52 weeks of shenanigans and tomfoolery!

3 Jan

(*Yes, there are two posts for this one day. BUT I won’t post multiple times a day..I just felt like I should include a back story before I started with this new journey*)

A couple of months ago when my then fiancé and I were contemplating the fate of our relationship he said something that I never expected to hear. “This relationship isn’t fun”. Of course, I wanted to say “fuck you” but instead I cried and pouted and contemplated deeply how we had gotten to this point.

I mean, we did fun stuff. Didn’t we? We went out to dinner. We went out for drinks. We went out for dinner and drinks. Okay, well that does sound boring as shit. In my defense, there are other things that I wanted to do and tried to do. But the point is none of that shit got done.

I attribute it to being a young single mom. Having my son before I turned 21 with no real help raising him meant life was all about my responsibilities. I didn’t have time to discover drinking or clubbing or whatever you did in your twenties.  I was busy paying mortgages, exorbitant child care, and dealing with other really serious important stuff that most of my friends are JUST now finding out about. Going out and partying and enjoying yourself was something I did to relieve intense stress, not just because I felt like it. I didn’t even KNOW you could have fun just because you felt like it. Hell, the only thing I did because I felt like it was breathe and blink and I didn’t really have a choice in that matter either. I didn’t have time for fun; I was too busy being responsible.

Well somewhere in the midst of being responsible and a parent and an employee and then a full-time returning student and entrepreneur I forgot what fun was. I remember at some point going to see a therapist and her asking me what I did for fun and even after two returning sessions I really didn’t have an answer for her.

I recently read an article called “6 Harsh Truths That Will Make You a Better Person” http://www.cracked.com/blog/6-harsh-truths-that-will-make-you-better-person/.  It talks about how life is not about who you are, but about what you do to show who you are that matters. Though I wanted to disagree, I couldn’t. In my head and heart I am an exciting person, but the most exciting thing I’ve done was learn how to make clothes from YouTube videos. Don’t get me wrong it’s a useful talent, but unless I’m going to open an online boutique it doesn’t exactly scream “Angelina Jolie via Tomb Raider” does it?

So, it’s 2013 and here begins the next chapter in my life. I’m newly single, a new college grad and I have a new lease on life. I wouldn’t call this a new year’s resolution, because they have a tendency to be temporary and lame (lol). I’ll call it taking my life in a new direction.  I’ve resolved that I’m boring so instead of thinking about fun and exciting things I’m going to start DOING them. 52 weeks. 52 fun and exciting activities.  I’m making my list and checking it twice and hopefully I’ll be sometimes naughty and sometimes nice.

ImageA friend suggested I blog about it and take pictures to document my journey of shenanigans. So that’s why I’m back.  Back to my blog. Back to the Hitt List. Back to my position as the List Mistress. So here is to  2013 and a year (and hopefully lifetime) of unexpected victories, surprises and happiness!

Cheers,

The Mistress of All Things Fabulous

2 Responses to “52 weeks of shenanigans and tomfoolery!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week Two Rut « The Hitt List - January 13, 2013

    […] wondering what the hell I am talking about. Well, a short while ago I published a post titled 52 Weeks of Shenanigans and Tomfoolery about the 52 new things I was going to do each week this year to make myself and my life more […]

  2. The Bachelor(s): Chicago Style « The Hitt List - February 1, 2013

    […] *insert light bulb moment* This would be a great time to knock another item off my list. I’m supposed to buy a strange guy a drink and strike up a conversation and there is no time […]

Leave a Reply

