1 of 52: Ice Skating

4 Jan

So today I officially kicked off my foray into becoming a more exciting and less boring person. Since no skydiving places were in the near vicinity (a clearly more exciting choice), I availed myself of the local ice skating rink which was option two for winter wonderland excitement. I must say, it is the MOST fun I’ve had in I don’t know how long. Now, being from a city who’s winter temps are normally in the 30’s you may wonder why I haven’t been before. Just refer to my other post where I talk about being boring..blah blah responsible..blah blah parenting..blah blah some other stuff. Point is, I’ve never been before so even though most of my friends who are natives to this great city have and wouldn’t necessarily call this exciting, it was to me. Here is a short list of what I learned in today’s adventure:

Image

1. If you wear heels as frequently as I do, and want to try ice skating you’ve won half the battle. Considering that I am normally balancing myself on 5 to 6 inch heels on any day ending in day, this was basically like wearing heels…just on ice.  

2. Have you ever seen a dog riding in a car? They scamper from the front seat to the back seat. From window to window sticking their heads out the window. Their fur is blowing in the wind like they’re in a Beyonce video and even with watery eyes and a tongue flapping across their cheeks it’s clear that they are having the time of their lives. Well, now that I’ve been ice skating I can relate. Outdoor ice skating made me feel like a dog riding in a car with the wind in my face. And I liked it. 

3. I was trying to figure out why on earth had I not done this before. I mean..it was cheap, easy to get to and most of all fun! I realized that in the past, I  purposely sought out doing activities that I knew I could do well. Was I afraid of embarrassment? I don’t think so. I’m probably the most clumsy person I know and if I was afraid of being embarrassed I would be confined to my couch. Seriously, I still run into the island in my kitchen in the middle of the day. So that isn’t it. I think it has more to do with wanting to do everything exceedingly well. I mean, it’s great to excel at everything but not if it keeps you from trying new stuff. Lesson: Do stuff even if you’re not good at it. If you like it enough you’ll do it more and eventually you will do it exceedingly well.

4. Which leads me to my final point: Ice skating isn’t fun until you fall. After I finally got the hang of the ice skates ie heels on ice, I was feeling like a pro. The wind was in my hair, I could skate without having the stiff robot arms ( you know when you hold your arms out trying to simultaneously keep your balance and brace for a fall) and I was having a pretty good time. I began to relax and even started gliding across the ice rather than that odd cross country skiing thing I had going on before. And just as I began to think I had the hang of it…WHACK! Right on the ice. And I burst out in a fit of laughter. I literally had to crawl to the edge to pull myself up. Which was immeasurably more difficult and made me laugh even harder. I felt like a kid again, without a care in the world. I had fallen on my ass in front of a bunch of strangers and instead of being horrified, I was invigorated. I went from having a good time to having a fucking blast! Lesson: The key to having fun, is feeling like a kid again. 

I can’t WAIT til next weeks activity!

Sincerely,

The Mistress of All Things Fabulous

2 Responses to “1 of 52: Ice Skating”

  1. Ava January 4, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    Now THAT was an awesome first post!!!! You go girl!!

    • thehittlist January 4, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

      Thanks booski! Thanks for reading! ❤

Leave a Reply

