Flashmob say what?

5 Jan

So in case you haven’t seen it, I finally posted my list of the 52 things I plan on doing this year. I hate to refer to it as a bucket list because that reminds me of someone dying and I certainly don’t intend for the culmination of my adventures to end in death. MORBID! LOL! So from here on out I’ll just refer to it as the M List (Mistress List, duh!).

Any who, so one of the items on my list was to participate in a flash mob. You know, the group of people you see casually chilling at the train station. Everyone seems to be casually waiting on something or doing something. Be it waiting on a train, buying souvenirs and pretzels or getting their shoes shined. All of a sudden you hear music over the loud speakers and then WHAM! Everyone busts out in a choreographed number to New York, New York or a Lady Gaga song!!! (I watch entirely too many romantic comedies). Any who, if you lie and say that you’ve seen that and it doesn’t seem like fun you’re a liar or you don’t have feet (if you’re reading this and don’t have feet please forgive me. :))

Since two of my favorite things are music and dancing this seemed like an obvious choice for the M List. However, I was slightly worried that I wouldn’t be able to find one. I mean, I am not a professional dancer so where does one find a reputable flash mob? Well, apparently the same place you find everything else. Google! LOL!

Last night while I was laying in bed I Googled “Flash Mob Chicago” and no joke one came up as the first item in my search. (Google SEO/SEM analytics really does work! More on that later..lol). I joined the group in Meetup and this morning I got an email inviting me to the first rehearsal  There were 4 spots left for new comers so I rsvp’ed for two, called my sister and we were on our way.

OMG! Even the rehearsal was awesome. There was this “older, white gentleman” there with his daughter and I have to say he could have been straight out of a hip hop video. I don’t mean to stereotype, but I was not expecting him to be able to pop, drop and lock it like that! He could probably dance circles around most of the men I know. It was just fun watching him! There were people my age, but people older too. It was just a hodgepodge of people with infectious energy.

The highlight however, was looking over and seeing my sister. We’ve been wanting to bond more but for some reason time, life and finances always seem to get in the way. When its not that she invites me to something I’m not interested in doing and vice versa. We live in the same city, less than 15 minutes driving distance and see each other as often as we would if we lived 15 hours away from each other. #Fail. We’ve been saying we are going to do better this year. Get closer. Spend more time together. Connect more. Who knew that dancing would be the thing that brought us closer together. This was actually something we both loved doing and we got to experience it together. AWESOME!flashmob

We have a couple more rehearsals before we perform next month but now we have a built in activity that allows us to bond, exercise and have pure unadulterated fun together. It doesn’t get any better than that. Lesson: Fun can bridge a gap with people you love and bring you closer when you least expect it!  

Well guys, I’m not scratching this of my list until the actual performance but did want to share today’s adventure with you. I can’t wait to share the rest of this journey with you guys.

Until then,

The Mistress of All Things Fabulous

3 Responses to “Flashmob say what?”

  1. nualapthatsme January 5, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

    Oh my goodness. That is awesome. I’ve always wanted to be in a flash mob. I love watching Howie’s show Flash Mob. I wish someone could video you when you do your final performance. That would be fantastic to see. I am so proud of you for getting out there and completing this M List!!!!! Keep living to the fullest!!!!!

  2. MaryMaryWhy-U-Bugging December 14, 2013 at 12:16 pm #

    Wow that sounds like soooo much fun! Thanks for sharing…. Hmmm.. I think I am inspired to make my own list of to do’s in a year. I will just write about it in my journal. Thanks. Great inspiration.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Flash Mob: Mission Complete « The Hitt List - February 12, 2013

    […] Mob off my list of 52 things to do this year! If you want to read about the flash mob click here! It was great fun, I met some great people and now I can say I am an actual flash mob performer! […]

Leave a Reply

