The Engagement Ring….

25 Feb

I’ve dreamt about this place for longer than I could remember. I had always known I would be here some day. I had however  imagined the visit to be under different circumstances. I pushed open the glass doors  and barely heard the chime that announced my arrival. I can’t even remember walking in though I do remember willing my legs to cooperate. In the end they chose to float into the store and eventually ended at the counter where I stood in a trance. Any other day, under any other circumstances my eyes would be bright with excitement and I would be squealing with child like glee. I’ve always liked pretty things and what’s prettier than a diamond.

“How can I help you?” the young lady behind the counter asked me effectively pulling me out of my trance.

“Is Elena here?” I asked trying to give off an air of confidence and ambivalence.  She smiled. As her eyes quickly skimmed over me I could tell she was assessing me. She smiling knowingly and went to fetch Elena.  I imagine she probably saw women like me come in several times a month.  Try as I might we both knew I was  barely holding it together.

Minutes later Elena approached me at the counter. I pulled the box from my purse and sat it on the counter. She smiled.

“I’d like to sell back my engagement ring.” I paused. “I no longer have any use for it.” I wanted to add that the buyer had a case of buyers remorse but my cheeky response was quieted by her sympathetic smile. “Let me see what I can do.” She replied and walked away leaving me staring at the case of jewelry.

I stood  at the counter staring at the beautiful engagement ring settings. I imagined how he looked staring at those same settings wishing he were any where but there. I quickly recalled the proposal that he pretended to want to give. The proposal where I pretended his nerves was not the doubt I knew it was. “You forgot to ask the question”. I asked. “Will you marry me, ” he responded. I pretended like I didn’t know that those words never felt right.

Elena returned and we quickly wrapped up our business. She handed me the check and wished me well in the future. I looked at the check knowing that no matter how much it was, that it couldn’t buy back the years that I had squandered. But I guess it’s still a small price to pay for my freedom. I placed the empty box back into my purse and walked quickly out of the store.

At least the tears had the decency to wait until I climbed back into my car and drove away.

the end

Signed,

The Mistress of All Things Fabulous

9 Responses to “The Engagement Ring….”

  1. Anita February 25, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    You’ve got me all choked up over here. I know freedom is priceless but a traumatic situation nonetheless…

    • TheHittList February 25, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

      Freedom is priceless. Yet another closed chapter to what is sure to be a great book! 🙂

  2. Confessions of a Thrift Store Fashionista February 25, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    Remember GODS plan for you is bigger than anything you have planned for yourself. The years you spent weren’t wasted they were grooming and strengthing you for the abundant blessing of your destiny. YOUR FUTURES SO BRIGHT YOU GOTTA WEAR SHADES :-).

    • TheHittList February 25, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

      Thanks honey. I know. I remind myself of it daily! And so does He. I’ll just get my shades ready. Hopefully I can start wearing them TOMORROW! 🙂 ❤

  3. Kaneisha February 25, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    Freedom is DEFINITELY pricless..but there is absolutely nothing wrong with a little retribution either!

  4. Mrs. Shah February 25, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

    I still wanna drop kick his ass! *refers back to “Dont diss my douche blog*

    • TheHittList February 25, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

      No Comment.

  5. Emma McMullen February 25, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

    God got you!

  6. nualapthatsme February 28, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

    I wish I could hug you. I love Kimmah. Thanks for sharing your heart once again. You’re classy. I know one day you will get the true engagement.

Leave a Reply

