Are You Extraordinary?

3 Apr

Are you living your best life? Are you ordinary or EXTRAordinary? The answer to this question may be as simple as what are you doing now that is different then what you did the last time you HONESTLY answered that question.

I’m asking you this because this was the conversation I was having with myself this morning. Probably had something to do with this book I’ve been reading (Filling in the Blanks by Anthony Roberts..check it out). I know so many people are dissatisfied with their life. Craving something different.  I think it has something to do with turning 30. You’re no longer in your twenties where you feel like you have SO much time to accomplish all you want to do and time to still figure it out. You look back and notice that 1/3 of your life is already gone and you are not honestly sure how many more years you have ahead of you. 60 more years? 40 more? 30 more? You realize that the life you “envisioned” having and the life you are currently living are as different as Vanilla Ice and Eminem.

You want something different? Do you crave it? When you go to sleep do you breath it? Yes? BUT what are you doing other than wanting it? Because wanting won’t make it happen any more than looking at the ocean will make you a fish.

Do this exercise. Imagine your life in the form of  a calendar. Now look at last 24 months. Hell, look at the last 12 months if you can’t remember back that far. (Don’t forget, that a seed takes a while to bear fruit). Looking at those last 12-24 months is there anything that you’ve done out of the ordinary? Have you taken any risks? Pursued any new passions? Made some goals and actually stuck to them? What about your daily journey is different? What about YOU is different?

If you have to think too hard about this question, then you already have the answer. I hate to sound so cliche but the definition of insanity is??? You guessed it. Doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result.

So what is it that you want? Do you want to lose weight and have a nice lean toned and sexy body? Fair enough and relatively easy. So what have you done in the last year to make that happen? Changed your eating habits, joined a gym, hired a trainer, used those DVDS that you’ve invested in that are currently being used as coasters to protect your coffee table?  (I KNOW somebody just had a she’s talking to me moment).

Do you want to get out of debt? Improve your finances? Takes a little more time but still doable. Have you learned how to budget? Taken some financial planning classes? Hired a financial planner? Are you being accountable to the budget you’ve set or is it just another thing that you’ll eventually get to after things improve?  (Note to self..things don’t improve until you improve).

OR my favorite! Are you still waiting on Prince Charming or Princess Snow White (or Snow Black…lol) You want to get married, huh? But you keep dating the same kind of people. You cycle partners like most people cycle underwear.  And you make up to break up..again, and again and again. How many exes you gonna date? (If it didn’t work the first two times..the third and fourth are looking Memph’ Bleek) Do you go for style over substance? Swag over stability? If only the MEN or WOMEN out here could be different huh? BUT what are YOU doing different. Have you evaluated your self? Taken a DEEP look at who you are and cleaned house? I’m going to go with no.

There  is this saying that my mother coined (don’t try to steal it..it’s copy-written and I will find you) and used to say all the time. I hated it when I was younger because I didn’t FULLY get it. BUT the older I get, the more experiences I have, the more I recognize it’s truth.

“Life is like a mirror. What one projects, they will reflect.”

Yea, my mom was dope! What this means is that everything in your life, is a reflection of who you are and what you’ve done up until this point. Not to say that bad shyt doesn’t just happen but more often bad luck is really just bad decisions and poor planning. (I’m being SO real with myself right now.)

Get this. Part of the reason why I am really not mad at my ex and was able to forgive him (despite realizing that we just weren’t compatible and he wasn’t for me) is that had I made some responsible choices and been smarter my financial situation would never have played the part it did in our downfall. I’m still convinced we would have broken up anyway. HOWEVER, that particular part  wasn’t his fault. It was mine. If I choose to play the “victim” there is no way in hell that situation won’t be revisited in my next relationship. The lesson keeps appearing until the student passes the test. 

So when is enough, enough? WELL my enough started a few years ago probably when I went back to finish my undergrad degree, but I’m calling my official “Emancipation of Kimmie” December 10, 2012. It was the day that I decided that by any means necessary, I would be me, be different, be extraordinary. First, to be extraordinary you have to first be REAL with yourself. Secondly, you have to Act. It’s not enough to KNOW if you’re not doing anything about it. Third, and in my humble opinion, you have to not give a fuck what any ones says and or thinks. The further you separate yourself from the pack the more different you will look and the more uncomfortable you will be. You can not be EXTRAORDINARY and COMFORTABLE at the same time. You’ve been comfortable..how is that working for you so far.?

So let’s do this? Let’s make a PACT to be extraordinary together. Not everyone can do this, someone needs to be a regular Joe but we don’t have to be those somebodies. Wanna better job? Go back to school or get a marketable skill? Wanna buy a house or car? Get your credit in order and learn how to be financially solvent. Wanna lose weight? Go home to night and throw away all the bullshit that you eat that you think no one  knows about (we know). As for me, I’m about to go call this financial planner!

If you want to live your best life, today is as good a day as any to get started,

The Mistress of All Things Fabulous.

2 Responses to “Are You Extraordinary?”

  1. Samantha Anderson April 3, 2013 at 3:55 pm #

    Love this post. Thanks for the great content and keep it coming!

  2. Thehittlist April 3, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

    Thanks Samantha! Greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

