When I Grow Up?

16 Apr

When I was applying for jobs I was asked some crazy ass questions. One company asked me to write a short story about a challenge that I’ve overcome..from the perspective of a turtle. Yes, you read that right. A turtle. I’m dead serious. I actually googled the question because I thought it was a joke.

Apparently, it’s a standard question for assholes HR people. Talk about a weed out process. What the hell y’all! (BTW Google is the King of all things random and for my HR professionals reading this..stop mind fucking your candidates. Not cool man..not cool at all!) Of course I totally nailed it. Or so I thought! I just knew they were going to want to hire me too! (Guess I’ll stop looking, cuz my search is OVA! SIKE!)

But looking for a job in this day and age is like playing a game of chicken with only one car. I didn’t even get an interview, much less the job. (Their loss, not mine).

Another application had me write an essay (yes, a freaking essay) as to why I liked marketing and thought I was a good fit for it. I didn’t get the job (suckas) but the question came at the right time. Just as I was getting frustrated with my job search, just as I began to ask myself “is this what I really want to do”. Hell…”IS this a good fit for me” an employer who very well could have been the key to me getting my life back on track after the debacle that has been the last 5 years of my life asked me a question that MOST people never really ask themselves.

Sidebar: Careers can start in various ways.

Some people map their careers out. They know where they’ll go to college, what they’ll major in and at what level they want to retire. They know the movers and shakers in their fields, they read the books to keep up on their skills, they network, and they subscribe to the magazines and blogs. (These people are anal overachievers who get on my nerve. LOL..Yea, I’m hating! SO!)  Other people fall into their careers. They get a job out of college or high school and as if by fate, they find themselves 20 years later managing or supervising the very type of people they started as. They like what they do, who they do it with and with a niche built out they follow a respectable career path until they retire.

I fall right in the middle of both of these.

3rd and 4th grade is about the time when teachers and parents start asking you that nefarious question. “What do you want to do when you grow up”? Most all of the kids I knew wanted to be a nurse, a doctor, a lawyer, a firefighter, an actor or play some kind of sport. The answers were always standard. But me, what did I want to do? I wanted to be a marketing executive. While this may not be an anything too extraordinary for a 35 year old to say, it was pretty damn BAWSE for a 3rd grader to say.

Look at me, running shit and stuff!

Look at me, running shit and stuff!

“Why a marketing executive,” they would ask? I would reply, “Well, I want to work in an fancy downtown office, and wear a nice suit and wear high heels every day and go to meetings where I sit at the head of the table and tell all of the men what to do.” (Yes, that was my answer). What’s funny is that to this day, that is still how I answer that question. I actually wrote this in my essay application and told my now boss this during my interview. Of course we laughed and I expounded with something a little more polished. But the truth of the matter is that I KNOW that if I have to punch a clock and work a nine to five that this truly IS a great fit for me. Not just because it’s something I can do, but because it’s something I love to do.

And today, when I was sitting in a meeting ran in two languages, wearing my high heels shoes and black pencil skirt and was the only woman in the room I could only smile knowing that soon I’ll be sitting at the head of that table telling all the men what to do. LOL

Granted there are other things I do and want to do. I love writing and it took me this long to realize that not only was I good at it, but I could also do it professionally. I love to motivate and encourage people, so I’d also like to do public speaking one day. But all of these things, including the marketing, are things that’d I’d do (and actually DO) without getting paid for them. I’m lucky to have been able to identify at least one of those things so early in my life and even LUCKIER to have identified the other things before I’m too old to want to do them.

Life is too short to waste it being unhappy. Being in a relationship that doesn’t make you happy. Surrounding yourself with friends who don’t make you happy. Working a job that won’t make you happy. So ask yourself this question: “Is this a fit for me? Is it growing me or slowing me?” Answer honestly and adjust accordingly. Your happiness depends on it!

Love,

The Mistress of All Things Fabulous

 

PS. I love my new job y’all!

2 Responses to “When I Grow Up?”

  1. LaTanya April 16, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

    Great article! I accepted a position in September out of necessity not because it was a fit for me. I went through three weeks of training along with misery. Met with my Director on three seperate occassions and each time, I uttered the words “I’m still trying to see if this is a fit for me.” Well two days after saying for the third time, “I’m trying to figure out if this is a fit,” I was terminated. Guess why? “I wasn’t the right fit.” As I search for employment now (after being laid off for two years) I am looking for positions that fit who I am and who I want to be in that position.

  2. Thehittlist April 16, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

    I hate when people say this to me but I’m going to say it anyway…lol…that job did you a favor. Though I know you probably needed that job and likely the income, but if you were still there you wouldn’t have been available for the job that’s meant for you. I hope it comes to you SOON and its something that’s beneficial to you as well as makes you happy! GOOD LUCK! I’m praying for you!!!

Leave a Reply

