My life served upside down

30 Jan

**Disclaimer/Update:

Okay, I know what you’re thinking. I am so 2000 and late with my blog posts this year. This is like the second post of the year and January is almost over! Lawd! I’m sorry ya’ll.  I’m not abandoning ship, but it was so much easier to write 3 posts a week when I was not working full time! Not that I am complaining (trust me I’m not). I’m going to do better going forward. Starting with today. **

Anyway, so with all that said this post is going to read like I have multiple personalities. This is going to be like 3 blog posts in one. It’s a blog threesome!

The Bucket List

First thing on my list of things to discuss is my bucket list (and my lofty ambitions to complete said list).  So if you remember last year, as I was going through a quarter life crisis and traumatic break up, I made this list of all the awesome things I wanted to do. Mainly because my fiancé at the time told me I was boring and I wanted to prove him wrong. But also, because I was starting to feel boring. I wasn’t taking risks. I had all these things I wanted to do but I wasn’t DOING them. I wanted to discover some stuff about myself. So I figured I’d make a list of all this fun and exciting stuff I’d always wanted to do and complete it by the end of the year. 52 things for each week of the year. Well, yea not only did I not finish the list but I didn’t even finish adding items to it. I wound up with 39 items. Life happened and this list became a lot less important.

Well, a funny thing happened the other day. I was talking to a friend about the list when I discovered that I had been unwittingly knocking stuff off the list and didn’t realize it. I got my new piercing (twice actually..OUCH…because the first place completely botched it the first time), I took a helicopter ride (One word: AWESOME) and sang karaoke (two words: horribly awesome). There are a couple other things that I’ve done too! Some not even on the list.

Like other areas in my life I’m learning to relax on the time tables. Going with the flow has never been my strong suit but being a drill sergeant isn’t the key all the time either. I’m learning to embrace the “grey area” and realizing that sometimes going with the flow produces the same result as following a list. I’m finally enjoying the journey as well as the destination.

Grey Area

Speaking of grey area, there has been something eating at me since NYE. I didn’t know how to word it in a way to share until just 5 minutes ago when I wrote it out to one of my dearest friends.

Direct Quote: “I realized that my desire to want to get married…so badly…has preoccupied my life for so long..and crippled me in ways. I pressured my ex..plain and simple..Because I felt like in order to have security..and happiness I HAD to be married. So I decided..that I’m letting that go. In a way. If it happens…great..if not…great. I’m single and this is the happiest that I’ve ever been (in my life). AND maybe that (marriage) is not what God has for me. I don’t know. BUT whatever he has…I just want to be happy. Without worrying about who I’m supposed to spend my life with and HOW I’m supposed to do that. So everything is on the table (long as it makes me happy).”

So..the journey continues and its not at all what I expected. I’m embracing the murky waters of the grey area. Long as I don’t drown…I think I’ll be okay.

**More to come on this topic..but you get the jist**

About that Survey…You know the one.

So two months ago I had this GREAT idea. Well, it seemed like a great idea. Until I realized how much work it was.  I put together this survey. I wanted to find out what did women truly want to know about men and get men’s super-honest ANONOMOUS responses. Well I got my answers and even found a male co-writer to help me with the series but I just didn’t have time to put it all together. Yea, I was totally acting like I had staff. LOL.

Anyway, I have gotten my act together. I have a co-writer, I have the material (mostly) ready and I’ll be ready to share it all with you guys in the next two weeks! So be prepared. It’s going to be a dozy!

Also…Here are a few pictures from the last few months…I don’t just look happy. I AM HAPPY. Now, that’s growth!

1385871_10202219387788814_788012282_n 1425688_10202072115716302_2002295839_n 1450821_10201173642444206_1275100615_n 1460094_10201954878105435_1292120684_n 1507584_10202182037744284_376156511_n 1536751_10202308340941785_280895490_n 1535018_10202431970792454_546946561_n

Until we meet again,

The Mistress of All Things Fabulous

Leave a Reply

